RSS Feed

Making the Shift

Posted on

It’s an interesting shift to make…. the shift from working in musical theatre to deciding to branch out as an independent artist. Believe it or not, everything is much more black and white in the theatre world in terms of blazing a career path. Show up at the audition, hand them your headshot and resume, sing a few bars, dance a little, book the job or move on to the next audition. The formula is very simple. The world of indie music is an entirely different ballgame, I’m finding.

There are no rules. Only a seemingly endless stream of opinions and anecdotes from other people’s experiences of what worked for them. I have been bombarded with these stories lately as I’ve been devoting much of my time to seeking out music blogs and reading about everything from guerilla marketing campaigns, to creating a budget for your first album, to digital distribution and an array of other topics that I never even knew I had to be privy to before. It’s a bit overwhelming at times, but I find it incredibly exciting.

There are several common themes I am finding from blog to blog to blog… One is that “making it” doesn’t necessarily equal a successful music career. If you spend all of your time looking for your “big break”, you’re going to rob yourself of the wonderful aspects of the journey. Another is that no musician finds real success (whatever that means) without a fierce commitment to relentless touring. That combined with utilizing the incredible resources available to the independent artist today in the way of social media is the key to cultivating relationships with your listeners, and hopefully converting them to the most valuable commodity an artist can have; fans.

I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you along my own journey. There are some exciting things in the mix right now. Check back soon for updates on my debut EP!

Leave a Reply

